How NOT to Stay Sober

This post is so good! Be sure to look at the comments, as well. These folks are GETTING IT!

Finding a Sober Miracle

534306c0465614738043ff69ddd83d75

From a wealth of experience, some even remembered, I would like to start an un-checklist of things to avoid.

It just so happens I am an expert on how NOT to stay sober. Here are some pitfalls that played out over and over again in my own life. Feel free to add your own.

Don’t do these things! (An un-check list)

Play the victim.Even though you are the victim of a devastatingly addictive substance, playing the victim keeps you stuck. Don’t allow your mind to continually revisit the past, especially knowing that your brain is cleverly weeding out the shitty and emphasizing the sublime, so that it can once again turn you into its shady dealer.

You are not helpless. You are not defeated. You are still alive, and you can still win this battle.

Bathe in guilt. There is an allure to guilt. Sometimes it feels like you…

View original post 600 more words

2 responses to “How NOT to Stay Sober

  1. We, friends of Bill, are stricken with this perpetual negativity. This may look like victim thinking, criticism of others, self-doubt, anger, resentment, jealousy, etc. Any of these feelings/attitudes can pull us into our disease. To share this part of our experience is real and necessary to be of maximum service. I find strength and hope in knowing that someone has experienced the same thing I may be walking through and they came out on the other side. Thank you for sharing your experience, strength and hope with others. I also want to mention, when I can’t make it to a much needed meeting due to my schedule, I try to hop onto an online meeting. Not really the same, but it is a useful resource.

    Liked by 1 person

    • In my early sobriety, I had to use the internet to supplement meetings. It made all the difference, when I couldn’t get out of the house. Thanks for the comment!

      Like