All in how you say it

Even after a number of 24s, there are always a few remnants of the old life around. 

I remember once I had a CD I wanted to share with my pastor & her husband, especially knowing that he drove a truck cross-country, and was always looking for something good to listen to. After about 2 weeks or so, I went up to Tim and asked him if he’d gotten the CD from Trisha yet. He said “No,” and with a funny look on his face he moved closer to me and said “She’s bogarting it!” He knew it would surprise me, and it did. We had a good laugh. Tim has been clean since long before we knew them. It’s fun to share the “code language” with others, especially when most of the people standing around (think: old church folk) have no idea what’s so funny. 

There are several other words that come to mind from the Old Daze, that have continued to pop up on occasion, and it’s a strange feeling when you’re trying to explain the meaning to a non-addict. 

The thing that got me thinking about this is when I was getting a cup of coffee at the mini-mart just a while ago. 

They have out “Christmas” flavored creamers, with names like Peppermint Mocha, Chocolate Chip cookie, and Chocolate Carmel. Ordinarily I’m a French Vanilla kind of girl, but I do love me some Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream, so the Peppermint Mocha caught my attention. 
I was looking forward to a delicious -different-tasting- cuppa Joe, as I started adding the sweetener and things. I put in a couple of the Peppermint Mocha creamers, but then I thought “this might be too much for this early in the day”. So I put in another two of the Regular creamers, just to be safe. 

I went to pay and mentioned the flavored creamers to the cashier & we talked with another customer about the flavors & which sounded good. Then it happened. I said that I tried the one new kind of creamer, but I “put some cut on it” with the regular creamer. 

I wonder to myself what others think when we do that. It’s like the… resin… of what once was. Or am I the only one? 

Have you had any experiences where old jargon fell out of your mouth before you realised it?  

Posted from the laundromat. Of course. 🙂

One response to “All in how you say it