Taking a Break

I’m thinking of taking a leave of absence from Facebook. I know, I know, many of you are saying ” good idea!” and the rest, well, you’re busy looking for stimulating new posts on your news feed. Yeah. That’s how I waste so much time, every day, as well. It’s been a while since FB really gave me that first rush, and I’m feeling like I’m chasing the dragon. I know the signs.And the thing is, I can only ignore them for so long before it begins weighing on my mind. 

There are, in ANY given day, SO MANY things I could be doing, instead of scrolling, scrolling, always scrolling…

A friend of mine advised me recently to “just write”. I’ve traded that sacred time for getting a  FB fix. I have things around the house that won’t get dealt with unless I do them. They’re waiting for me to re-prioritize. 

It’s interesting, that I didn’t have much problem cutting back on tv. I suppose that might be related to the impersonal nature of the all-seeing eye in the living room. I mean, occasionally, there are things on Facebook that are specifically for ME. But how often does that actually happen? Not so often. 

I’m not going to deactivate my account, as I’ve done before, because that takes everything of mine down, I think. But I have taken the FB icon off of the front of my phone, and I am going to be aware of how much time I’m giving to that time-suck. Really, what if there was another way that I could get info from ONLY the people that I want to hear from? And just the things that pertain to me? 

Oh, you mean like email? Or, maybe, text messages? 

I’m not going to say how long this will last, because really I’m not willing to commit. Posts here will still show up on my feed, so I hope you’ll come by here and let me know what you think of them. πŸ™‚ 

But, for now, just for today, I’m taking a break from Facebook.  I have a Book that I need to be spending time reading. I need to spend more time in conscious contact with my God.

What about you? Do you ever feel like social media is ruling your life? Have you ever taken a break? How did you feel? 

15 responses to “Taking a Break

  1. I always know I love someone when they take a break from FB. I, personally, spend very little time there. I love what you saidβ€”you’ve got stuff to do. There are a lot of people who need me and FB isn’t one of them. One of the best things I was taught was to build my (business) as if FB didn’t exist. It was great advice.

    ps. Your real friends know how to find you if they need you. And it won’t be a FB post. Good thoughts Abbie … Good thoughts.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Long time no see my original blogging friend. Interesting post and thoughts. I’ve tuned out of Facebook and maybe check it out once a day now at most…although, oddly, I never actually linked up with you there ! Might have been easier to King a message saying ‘Where the heck have you (I) been??’

    Social media can dominate life I’d unwatched….especially for those of us afflicted with addictive personalities…it becomes a habit, just check for messages, new posts, feeds, followers, likes..check…check…check…. It creeps up until one day you realise how it costs in other areas of life.

    I hope it helps you find balance again πŸ™ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

      • You too, I must humbly apologise for not dropping in more often. This writing life has really eaten time to the point where I took two weeks off to regenerate. The cut back off Facebook to once or twice a day is really helpful too. Thoroughly recommend it 😊

        How are you these days Abbie?

        Like

        • I’m better when I stay away from Mind-suck, I mean Facebook. πŸ˜‰ I have been staying busy, as well. Not writing as much here b/c I think I’m brooding too much. (Gonna have to look that up, but I think it’s right) I feel subversive, breaking away from my steady diet of scrolling, and I like it. πŸ™‚
          Glad you came by!

          Liked by 1 person