Depression? PTSD? Whatevs.

I went to my Mental Health Dr. yesterday. I like him. Of all the men I have been in a room alone with, I think I’m the least uncomfortable with him. I don’t know how much of that is him, and how much is me, but regardless, I’m truly grateful. 

Several weeks ago, Dr. G added a medication to the one I have been taking for a while, with the intention of eventually dropping the first. My (dream?) is to stop taking the other, as well, but that may or may not be realistic. But, I trust him to make the call.

Here’s the part that stands out to me about yesterday’s appointment:

He said he doesn’t think I am depressed- clarified with the word “remission” – but that we’re just dealing with PTSD, now. I told him I can see that being the case, as the trauma began pretty young. I had a Dr. tell me years ago that I’d likely been depressed since I was 7-8. In the context of yesterday’s conversation, I wonder if I’ve not been wrestling with PTSD for that long? I know that many of the symptoms, for me, have been similar. Or maybe they just overlapped. Either way, I will gladly accept that the (not “my”, I refuse to claim ownership) depression has been arrested. There’s no question that there are occasionally triggers for PTSD that pop up. After so many years, God has allowed me to talk myself through them for the most part. 

I feel a return of hopefulness and a reduction in despair. I see the beauty around me a bit more clearly. 

Ah, Recovery, you give me gifts that I’d never have imagined. 

Have a groovy Friday y’all. Or at least, if ya don’t, find someone to talk with about it. Even if it’s your Cat.

7 responses to “Depression? PTSD? Whatevs.

    • Thanks, Mark! I have been feeling quite…different! It’s really nice. I don’t put a lot of stock into “happiness”, bit it is a nice respite. 😀

      Like

  1. It seems everyone has a touch of PTSD for something that has occurred. I have two triggers that are strange. One is turning corners when I drive (which I rarely do); and the other is Asian men . . .which sounds wrong I know but I have a good reason for it. I like to stay home (with my cat) and look at nature a whole lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been diagnosed with C-PTSD and am struggling with it a lot right now. I created a blog in hopes to connect with others and not feel so alone with it all. I really like your post.

    Like