2 Brown Paper Bags

Adulting on a Saturday morning

It’s gonna be a hot one here, so I put on my Big Girl Panties and got up early and came to the laundromat, while the temperature is still tolerable.
I found a nice little place just up the road from us, and the price isn’t too bad. When I opened the door with my laundry basket in my hands, the cool greeted me: sweet, sweet (working) air conditioning. Ahhhh, yeah, this was a good decision.

Coolness, and quiet

Now I’m sitting here with only the swishing of the machines to keep me company, and I think I’m in that Zone. You know, the one where your old body isn’t giving you too much grief, and you’re able to focus on the Now, and, well…I’m feeling content.

What a difference

Sure, I’d be happy to still be in bed, listening to the sounds of my hubby next to me, and the softly-playing music from the radio in our room. But I would not be in this Zone. No, I’d be thinking about hauling the laundry up and down the stairs at home, and how each minute that I waited, the heat would be increasing by leaps and bounds…definitely not The Contentment Zone.

And…paper bags?

Oh, yeah. So there’s a little convenience store next door where you can get change for the washing machines. Being that I could have slept for at least another couple of hours, I thought grabbing a drink with caffeine in it sounded good. I got a large can of tea, and set it on the counter. While I was digging out my wallet, the cashier did her usual (I’m sure she didn’t even think about it, really), and put the can in a little bag.

image

Memories, right?

I smiled to myself, as I remembered (kind of) so MANY times in my early-to-mid 20’s when there was certainly not gonna be anything as benign as iced tea in that brown paper bag. I’d (felt like I) was fairly cosmopolitan, washing my clothes like a good little haus frau, getting sh*tfaced by the time the spincycle had begun. Frankly, it’s a miracle I didn’t lose my entire wardrobe. And don’t get me started on the laundromats with TANNING BEDS! Oh crap! Two of my favorite drinking activities in one?! I wondered aloud to my partner in crime “Why don’t they just add a bar, here in the laundromat!?!” Yeah, I WAS quite brilliant.

In the zone

So, today, I’m here, not “getting away with” anything, doing The Next Right Thing. They tell me that there are kids who figure this sort of thing out, maybe even before graduating high school, but I’m not buying it.
Well, my sleepy-voiced hubby just called to find out where I am. (If this were back in the day, I’d have NEVER answered my phone this early, knowing who was on the other end. Just sayin.) I told him what I was up to, and how I’m just Adulting all over the place, and he was impressed. So, I’m gonna call this post Done, and get ready to fold.
It’s funny, isn’t it, how a simple thing like iced tea in a brown paper bag can bring back memories of so many, many brown bags in the past? Yep, there are triggers, but only for memories, NOT for wanting to return to that place of chaos and insanity.

What are YOU doing to beat the heat today?

Posted from my seat in the laundromat.

6 responses to “2 Brown Paper Bags

  1. Ghegheghe, I worked in packaging the last weeks (during a heatwave here) and it is 14 degrees Celsius there so, I’m ok. Only the switch to 30 to 35 outside and 35 to 40 inside the house under the flat roof was difficult. πŸ™‚ Taking it easy though, no big time adulting here now. πŸ™‚
    xx, Feeling

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This time thing is really annoying….it’s simply been too long since I wandered over here and smiled at the madness….written from a laundromat with brown paper bags…I didn’t know they still existed, the bags not the laundromat.

    Adulting…yes, had enough of that too, although if I am honest as a kid I hated triple chemistry on Friday afternoon more πŸ€”

    I have a plan to fix this absentia too….a list in my reader. It is being populated with people that were around when I started blogging…I am about to snag your URL and stick it in my close bloggers list. Tracking your posts should now prove simples 😁

    Hope alls well my friend !

    Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh never thought of it like that πŸ™ƒ

        Me too…about a week ago I was looking through my posts thinking about time and comments and realised lots of originals (my first followers and now friends) have slipped as more and more blog emails fly in. Now I’ve found a brilliant way to keep in touch more 😁

        Alas it may mean more visits πŸ‘»

        Liked by 1 person