You can never go home

This post is more about a life thing than necessarily an addiction thing, but since I don’t ever know where a post will end up, let’s just see where it takes us…

When I was young, due to family restructuring, we moved around a lot, for a couple of years. Like 4 moves in 1 school year. A lot.
People say “kids are resilient” and “they’ll adapt” and the like. Maybe that’s true. But maybe “people” were thinking of kids with a stable home, who didn’t have (yet to be diagnosed) mental illness.

When I finally got settled in what would be our last move, I  began to think about the friends I’d left behind, and the places we’d played. I’d gone to school with the same kids for K-3rd grade, and I missed them.
image

Changing schools 4 times in a year left me unable to make strong connections for a long time (there may have been other contributing factors). What with Dad leaving and us moving so often, I must have concluded that it’s just not emotionally safe to form strong friendships. I stayed on the social outskirts for the remainder of my academic life for the most part, only making a few friends, even after a year or more in the same classrooms.
I sometimes daydreamed about what my old friends might be doing now, the ones from where we’d moved… I looked at yearbooks and remembered the fun times, and I cried. Loneliness is a hard thing to bear at any age. And being the “new kid” is tough, on top of that.

Being away from Dad for long periods were difficult, even though, looking back, I know that the good times with him, as a little girl, were far fewer than the harsh and painful times. But in my memory, I chose to only keep the good memories. I guess I kind of spliced them together in my mind so that all I had when I thought of Dad were happy times. That must be the resilience & adaptability that people were talking about.

I’m thinking of my own children, and how they had similar experiences when life required us to move…
Thankful for the happy memories, but knowing now that the mind sometimes has a way of being selective in what it holds onto. The good times may come to the front of our memories, and the  sad, frustrating, and lonely times of those days, well,we just don’t choose to think about them.  I understand now that part of the wondrous quality of those memories comes from the fact that I was so young, so niave and didn’t have the baggage and scars then, that I have now. A counselor pointed out to me once that maybe I didn’t miss the people as much as I missed ME, back then. I’m a firm believer that ignorance is bliss. I didn’t know, then, what I didn’t know.

I know that my God works everything out for my good, according to His (loving) purposes. He has taken painful experiences time and time again and brought beautiful things from the ashes. I also know that children haven’t lived as long and haven’t the experience to be able to look back on, to remember that He WILL bring us through…
I hope and pray that my boys will find life-long friends, just a couple, with whom they can form that sacred bond of friendship, the one that spans across decades. 

Hindsight, they say, is 20/20. I don’t know if it is, or not.

I remember the pains of being a teenager, of trying to make sense of things that truly, never would make sense.

Today, I wonder how those people are, the ones we left behind when we moved. Sure there are some I’d like to see, but even now I know it wouldn’t be the same.

I also know that the reason I didn’t feel like I “belonged” was because I didn’t. When I’m not where I’m supposed to be, even after the initial “new” wears off, it’s not gonna feel right.
But sometimes I just have to wait. And pray.

I can’t leave you without a reminder of that cheesey old saying about home being “where the heart is”. It’s true. My home today is where my family is…related by blood
or not. It’s not about geographical locations. It’s about who holds me and my needs in high esteem. Who can I count on, whenever, and whatever? And who will tell me the truth, even if it’s gonna hurt?
Those are my family, and no distance can change that.

Posted from my hut in the forest.

14 responses to “You can never go home

  1. Thank you, Abbie, for your words. I think it’s true that the past looks far different from the perspective of looking forward than it does looking back . . . especially knowing what we know now. Ultimately, you are the person who you are supposed to be NOW, even with and through the experiences the Infinite One has given you. Peace to you, my friend! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gosh I just had this conversation with my adult son last night! He only moved three times in his memorable childhood but he seemed to think he had no real hometown! I was surprised as he attended the same middle and high schools. As for resilliency? I believe their are always consequences.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, there are always consequences. Interesting how we can have the same experiences but our perceptions can be so different. Thanks for coming by and sharing your thoughts. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Et voila, it works…well, I can now exclusively view your lists in my reader…which is cool and not stalkerish at all…I think. Moving yes, in years gone by I moved eight times in ten years and three cities…I never had much stuff then either, far more streamlined…now in a fixed abode it seems junk becomes stockpiled…is that a reflection on my now state of mind? Cluttered and less steamlined. Scary thought…..or is it? Is that a “settled” thought I wonder…and is that now scary….oh my, oh my…

    Cool thoughts again 😊

    Liked by 1 person